Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am a veterinarian living in southern California. I fervently want to relocate to the south of France in the area around Nice. I have been trying to accomplish this for about two years now but I have not been able to attain my goal.

The problem is the extreme difficulty involved in a non-French non-EU person obtaining a long-term work Visa. I am not able to survive without a source of income so I would have to generate income while living in France.

I recently received an email newsletter from someone in France who told several stories of expats trying to deal with French governmental agencies. He told of how he was able to help those people. Since he seemed knowledgeable with expat issues in France, I emailed him and told him my story and asked him if he had any tips or suggestions for me in my quest to relocate to France.

He suggested something to me that no one else has suggested before. He suggested that my being a native English speaker would be considered a valuable asset to some businesses. He suggested that I could offer my services as a consultant to American businesses in France - veterinary and otherwise.

While I think this is an intriguing idea, I am having difficulty coming up with ideas as to what consultant services I might be able to offer since my level of French is beginner at best. It seems to me that being bilingual in both English and French would be necessary to offer any kind of services in France.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what kind of consultation services I might be able to offer in France and what businesses might be interested in those services?

Or does anyone have any other innovative ideas as to how I could generate income to allow me to live in France?

I really appreciate your help!

-Rachele

·
Registered
4,899 Posts
Hi Rachele