Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello There,
I am a 35 year old father to 3 kids - 6,9.13 and a husband to my wife Laura.
We are all in agreement that we want to settle in the USA.
I Have been in the Royal Navy and I have also lived over seas before in Dubai.
The bulk of my working life has been as a car salesman for brands such as Toyota & Lexus, Mercedes Benz and Audi.
Despite having bags of life experience I have no ' real ' qualifications, but I was wondering if any one knows if the fact I am a salesman by trade whether that would be classed as a skill to enable me to embark on my mission to live in America?
I would really love to hear from people that could steer me in the right direction.
Kind Regards
Lee

·
Registered
7,632 Posts
If you have been working for the same car company for 12 years, and have an executive/management position, and the company could justify transferring you to one of their US operations, then you might be able to get an L-1.
Without academic qualifications (degree) you don't qualify for a work visa. Car salesman does not warrant a visa.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you have been working for the same car company for 12 years, and have an executive/management position, and the company could justify transferring you to one of their US operations, then you might be able to get an L-1.
Without academic qualifications (degree) you don't qualify for a work visa. Car salesman does not warrant a visa.
Thank you for your response Crawford. Despite thinking that was the case, deep down I hoped it might not be.
May have to re think my next steps and timescales. And look at what I can do to make this happen.
Thank you again for your response.
Lee

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
The only other possible avenue would be an E2 visa given you would appear to be from the UK.