Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

My wife (a Polish citizen) and I are planning to move to Graz, Austria next year. She will be completing her PHd there, and I plan to move with her (I am a Canadian citizen). I currently work as a software engineer here in Vancouver, Canada, but my employer has expressed an interest in keeping me employed and continuing to pay me into my Canadian bank account to work remotely.

Now, I know that the first step is getting the Austrian work visa, which shouldn't be problematic as my wife is an EU citizen and will be studying there full time, along with getting paid an average salary.

After that, things seem to get a bit murky. I have the option of staying on my current employer's payroll and using a Canadian bank account. I plan to keep these accounts open anyways. The issue here is that my income tax is deducted at source. From what I have gathered, I will owe Austrian tax first, and then file Canadian tax afterwards. I suppose it is possible to stop getting taxed at source, and set aside the necessary income to paxes at the end of each tax year in Austria, but I am not sure how complex this might be.

The other option is to set myself up as a contractor in Austria, and invoice my employer remotely. This is the easier option for me, but more complex from the viewpoint of my employer.

I don't think this is that uncommon of a scenario given the number of remote software developers these days, but I am finding concrete information difficult to come by. Does anyone have any experience in this regard?

Best,
James

·
Administrator
50,461 Posts
This is a fairly common issue and comes up all the time here on the forum.