Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all
i have some questions hopefully someone can awnser.
after searching many other posts nothing really seems clear.

i work in the uk on oil rigs 3 weeks on 3 off. i pay uk tax through my company

i however live in spain. the day i leave the rig i return straight to spain.
ive been doing this for 4 years. however the 4 years before that i lived and also worked in spain on a spanish contract and payed spanish tax and social for 8 yrs.

this is 12 years in total i been here and dont intend on living in the uk again.

obviously paying my national ins and tax in uk i would be intitled to a uk pension come retirement.

considering i live here in spain and intend on doing so forever.
i should really pay my tax and ins here?
for certain i want my health care here as i did before when i worked here
but lets say i opt out in uk and pay al my tax etc here in spain.....

that would entitle e to my health care here?
would it also entitle me to a pension in spain? if so does anyone know how it compares to uk pension? retirement age how much you recive?

and would i then not be entitled to anything in the uk come pension age? as ive only about 9 yrs stamp paid in uk so far.

i know its a long one but any help on any of the questions be great if anyone knows anything

·
Registered
4,037 Posts
hi all
i have some questions hopefully someone can awnser.
after searching many other posts nothing really seems clear.

i work in the uk on oil rigs 3 weeks on 3 off. i pay uk tax through my company

i however live in spain. the day i leave the rig i return straight to spain.
ive been doing this for 4 years. however the 4 years before that i lived and also worked in spain on a spanish contract and payed spanish tax and social for 8 yrs.

This is 12 years in total i been here and dont intend on living in the uk again.