Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there
My husband is likely to move to Grenoble in France for work in the future. I work as a GP and forensic medical officer (like GP work, but for police) in the UK and would like to continue working in France. Does anyone have experience/knowledge of how best to go about this? My French is awful, but I'm planning in taking intensive classes, and not working for at least the first year as we have young children I'd like to settle in first. Thanks

·
Administrator
51,357 Posts
If you're already planning on taking a "sabbatical" from working for a year, I'd plan on scouting out the possibilities once you've gotten here. It will do your French a world of good (i.e. to have a "project" to research) and while you may not be able to continue in precisely the same line of work, you'll be more likely to see some new and creative possibilities based on what's around you and what your circumstances are.

I know medical professionals who have turned their qualifications into related areas - like technical writing or editing, working in insurance or for medical or pharmaceutical companies. Or sometimes a totally unique opportunity presents itself when you least expect it.

Main point is to learn the language and get out and about to meet people and get to know them. It's still pretty much the case that most jobs in France are found through "bouche à l'oreille" (word of mouth).
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
4,910 Posts
I've met EU people - one doctor, one dentist who set up in France. I understand there are two distinct hurdles; One is to get your qualifications (in French language too) accepted by the centre in Paris. Once done you have to meet the local committee to see if they accept you. These committees seem to be very stong and have some legal powers.