Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I've just registered on this forum with an attempt to find some assistance regarding the situation i'm facing - I will summarize as brief as possible:

I am an Israeli Veterinarian, age 30, currently working as a Clinical Vet in Israel. I have graduated from the Szent Istvan Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Budapest, Hungary (November 2012). My diploma is a European Union recognized diploma and allows for work in all EU countries.

I am engaged to a French national, currently still in Budapest, doing her final year of Veterinary studies at the same university as I had. Prior to leaving Budapest we have spend 2 years of living together. We are planning on getting married in France on February 2014.

I understand that under EU laws, as the non European spouse of a European citizen, I will be entitled for a work and residence permit if I'm living with her in an EU country. Since she still has about a year to finish her studies, I plan on moving back to Budapest to live with her for that period (after we get married). After inquiring for my possibilities of registering at the Hungarian Veterinary Association (for the purpose of practicing my profession in Hungary) I was told flat out that since I do not have a European Citizenship I could not practice as a Vet in Hungary - and that is despite being a graduate of an EU (actually Hungarian!) university, and despite being entitle for a work permit in the EU.