Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi there everone could anyone please inform me weather we could settle in portigul i am a plastering contractor and my wife is a hair dresser we both run our own businesses in the uk, would we be able to find work or set up business any info would be much appreciated thank you.

·
Banned
905 Posts

hi there everone could anyone please inform me weather we could settle in portigul i am a plastering contractor and my wife is a hair dresser we both run our own businesses in the uk, would we be able to find work or set up business any info would be much appreciated thank you.
Hi Jaiko

First the are a number on things to take into account. First there is a post on this Forum by Dalma looking for Construction Workers/Builders in Lagos?. The reason is they arrive on time do a good days work but do not expect UK rates of pay. If you go to an area that has many Expats then expect there to be many like you all looking for work.

First why not come over to Portugal a few times to find your way round. Decide on an area, then start doing research into the area what it has to offer what the area can give you by way of chances to work etc.

Ask on the Forum any questions that you need an answer to, you will see how helpful the members on here are. If you have a sense of humour that helps as well.

Good luck

Peterfc 666?

·
Banned
573 Posts
Hi Jaiko,

Finding work here is not easy to be honest. At the very least you would need to have a basic understanding of portuguese. A lot too will depend on where you decide to live. It is very quiet out in the country and there are few opportunities at village level. I only know one chap who has a regular weekly wage. He was lucky to get work with a uk guy who is well established here and who with his wife have a holiday home property management and rental business.