Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

My wife and i are looking at either going on a working holiday and look at staying if we like it. Is this a possiblity?
Im new at the whole working overseas thing.

Im a Systems Admin/Computer Technician in IT and My wife is a fully qualified hairdresser.
We have both completed Year 12 studies in Australia.
My wife has completed a Cert 3 in Hairdressing and is currently studying her diploma in salon management.
Ive been in IT for 10 years, worked from building computers, QA of new systems, and up in systems administration where i am now.

Im 29 and she is 23.

Just looking for some information
Can you go on a working holiday and if you like apply for residency??
Is it true you need 10k in your bank before they even think about letting you in?

Any Information would be appreciated.

Thanks in Advance

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
No, you cannot waltz in, hang out and stay if it suits you:>) Please read up on US visa options and requirements. Lots of information in existing threads and at the official sources uscis.gov and travel.state.gov.
Once the visa questions has been taken care of your wife has to get her US licenses. This gets done on state level. Google "cosmetology license" and the respective state for details. IT on the level you posed is not my forte. Go through some of the standard boards such as dice/careerbuilder/... to check things out.
By the way you get at least one vehicle and insure it, pay deposits for everything from apartment to utilities, sign up for medical insurance and have a tiny nest egg left - 10k will be long gone.

·
Registered
7,253 Posts
Hi guys,

My wife and i are looking at either going on a working holiday and look at staying if we like it. Is this a possiblity?
Im new at the whole working overseas thing.

Im a Systems Admin/Computer Technician in IT and My wife is a fully qualified hairdresser.