Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, Im a Newbie here,

my wife and i have seriously been thinking of moving to southern spain or maybe the canaries. Im an operations manager (previously a builder) and my wife is a drugs counsellor (previously a Childminder). If we did move my wife would have to obviously give up her job. Ive been told i could work from spain for a while by my boss. really i want out of my job completely as we are looking for a more relaxed way of life and to spend more time with our 3 children. So a couple of questions:

1. Is there much work for builders or Chidminders in southern spain or canaries at the moment? on a recent visit it looked like things were moving again on the canaries but we are still all in recession i know its not booming.

2. Would you recommend state or international schools for the children? children are 5 month, 5 years and 12years looking at moving over next mid june.

thanks in advance

Wayne

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Hi all, Im a Newbie here,

my wife and i have seriously been thinking of moving to southern spain or maybe the canaries. Im an operations manager (previously a builder) and my wife is a drugs counsellor (previously a Childminder). If we did move my wife would have to obviously give up her job. Ive been told i could work from spain for a while by my boss. really i want out of my job completely as we are looking for a more relaxed way of life and to spend more time with our 3 children. So a couple of questions:

1. Is there much work for builders or Chidminders in southern spain or canaries at the moment? on a recent visit it looked like things were moving again on the canaries but we are still all in recession i know its not booming.

2. Would you recommend state or international schools for the children? children are 5 month, 5 years and 12years looking at moving over next mid june.

thanks in advance

Wayne