Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently looking towards moving to the Malaga area May/June 2018.

At the moment my Spanish is intermediate, but I am attending lessons and also plan to do an intensive course to get my skills tip top.

My background is office / admin / recruitment with a Law degree.

I have considered undertaking TEFL / CELTA and researched it for months. Having just been through 2 tests and an interview I have been formally offered a place on the CELTA Course. I figured that if I could work part time or freelance teaching English that would help me get my foot in the door and start me off with a steady income when I arrive.

My question is, would I be able to pick up work fairly easily with having a good understanding of Spanish (which will hopefully get better once I live there) ? Or would you recommend me to complete the CELTA as it might be easier for me to pick up work ? The other benefit of the CELTA is that it is recognised worldwide, so doesn’t only limit me to Spain in the future. I don’t want to spend £1500 on a course if it will not prove to be necessary. I would rather spend some of my hard earned money on an intensive Spanish Course.

I am really torn with what to do for the best. The CELTA Course starts in 3 weeks so I really need to make my decision.

Thank you for your time and advice!

·
Registered
15,733 Posts
If I were you I would do the course. Other than teaching English, there are very few job opportunities. My friend did it three years ago, found work immediately with a local academy and was inundated with requests for private lessons. However be aware that even with the qualification the pay and conditions can be very bad.

·
Registered
19,386 Posts