Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Serious question. I don't really understand the whole Expo thing and what it will mean.

If Dubai were to win it, would it lead to an increase in the number of jobs? I am a struggling intern at a consultancy firm and am looking for a way out into marketing research/PR/corporate communications. Would the expo lead to an increase in jobs in all sectors or only some select sectors like hospitality?

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
It will give an increase in construction/lobour jobs, mostly to people from the sub-continent, who will all be brought over to build the Expo Village/City thingy - then all be sent back home afterwards.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It will give an increase in construction/lobour jobs, mostly to people from the sub-continent, who will all be brought over to build the Expo Village/City thingy - then all be sent back home afterwards.
Ah, that's what I thought as well. No big deal then, life will carry on as usual for the rest of us.

·
Registered
5,195 Posts
Ah, that's what I thought as well. No big deal then, life will carry on as usual for the rest of us.
Not really. The media and the real estate industry will try to make you believe that all this means rents MUST go up so we actually may be worse off in years to come, or perhaps even months since real estate agents are already doing their best effort to feed the speculation. We shall see.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Not really. The media and the real estate industry will try to make you believe that all this means rents MUST go up so we actually may be worse off in years to come, or perhaps even months since real estate agents are already doing their best effort to feed the speculation. We shall see.
Oh dear. I was positive about Dubai getting the expo till today, hope they don't now!

·