Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey anyone

My wife has applied for a job in Dubai, and im just a little worried about finding work etc etc. I have been a Chef on and off through out my life. Im currently working for Conkers which is part of the national forest project. Its great foods pretty basic which is what i like dont really want to be stuck in a hotel really. I also make Birthday cakes etc etc and wondered if there was a market for stuff like that. Im a jack of all trades master of none. Would appreciate some advice and just a idea of job situation out there. As much as i like being free to do what i want with the kids i would like to have some kind of job. Cheers in Advance :confused2:

·
Banned
423 Posts
Sounds like you could do well woking either for one of the cake places or maybe setting up on your own.

Reading between the lines you appear apprehensive of your wife's potential job. Don't be, you have great skills and there is a demand for decent chefs who can cook what people actually want, not the posh stuff that I had enough of when I was there, but the genuine home cooked food that doesn't really exist in Dubai.

If you want steaks etc. it's ten a penny, if you want proper warming food, stews, casseroles etc. Then it's somewhat lacking.

Go for it, think outside the box.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi thanks for the reply only just got chance to get on here. That sounds Luke a lot of opportunitys to try something different out there. Think I'm just going to play it by ear and see what happens with ny wife's interview before looking in to it more but thank you for the advice its greatly appreciated. Chris

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
I'd worry about this only after the wife has been offered the job...

If she gets the postion there are several things to keep in mind: