Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I am visiting Dubai next week and wanted to know what is the best way to find a job whilst being there. I am a IT professional who has been actively looking for roles in Dubai as a support engineer but i do not get any responses. I am keen on finding a role there so i can relocate there with my wife.

Could anyone offer me any advice?

Thanks

Nasir Isrolia

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
As an IT Support engineer from the UK, you can pretty much sit back, enjoy the sun and go home again well rested although very sunburnt.

The average 'IT Support Engineer' role in the UAE is dominated by people from very low cost countries and unless you have some truly unique skills, or are a senior person, you'll struggle, as they can hire someone from India who costs about 25% of what you expect.

Sorry but good IT people are ten a penny out here and bad ones cost about the same.!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi All

I am visiting Dubai next week and wanted to know what is the best way to find a job whilst being there. I am a IT professional who has been actively looking for roles in Dubai as a support engineer but i do not get any responses. I am keen on finding a role there so i can relocate there with my wife.

Could anyone offer me any advice?

Thanks

Nasir Isrolia

I also get no responses what so ever. I'm a health & safety officer and have been looking and emails agencies/ business but no reply at all. I'm starting to think that unless your knock on people's doors your won't hear anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
I'm a health & safety officer
Recent changes to legislation point HSE staff vacancies in the direction of Emirati's.

While its not completely reserved, the number of HSE staff per company is quite low which mans in practice that the percentage of Emirati's taking the jobs is quite high.