Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a non-dom UK resident (married to a UK citizen). I'm filing a self-assessment using the arising basis (used remittance basis last year). I reported my 2011 pension income in January but didn't have my US 2011 tax return at that point in order to report interest and dividend income. Now I'm thoroughly confused about which US tax return to use for this information. As the UK tax year is April to April, should I use my US 2010 return or wait until I have my completed 2011 return? It would be impossible to figure out which portions of these income sources arose before and after April, 2011.

I had a UK tax accountant who was really bad and I fired him as he really knew nothing about any of this and never answered my questions. I have a US tax accountant who files my US returns but he doesn't know anything about UK tax law. I'm already paying a lot for his services and can't afford to hire another one here. I'm a 70 year old pensioner with some additional income from dividends and interest but not enough to afford much more in the way of tax consultants.

Thanks for your help.

·
Administrator
49,387 Posts
Where is your pension from? The US or UK?

In any event, for your US taxes, you are supposed to declare income received during the calendar year 2011 - whether you're reporting pension or interest and dividends. For UK taxes, you report what you received during the UK tax year (April to April).

Let's see if we can flag down someone with some experience in UK taxation to help with this.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
clarification

Hi Bev,

All my income is from the US, i.e., pension and some dividends and interest (in a small in vivro trust where I'm the trustee and my daughter, a US resident is the beneficiary). I won't have the 2011 information until my US accountant completes my 2011 US return.