Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I apologize if this question has been asked time and time again but I'm finding the trawl through Google and other resources a mindfield at the moment.

My Partner and I are considering a move to Australia in the next 12 months but we don't know where to begin. I've found some great websites and I've made contact with an agency called GlobalVisas which was very informative and It seems to make sense to let an agency take care of all the paper work but I'm not sure if I'm ready to hand over the big fees just yet.

I think our best option is the Skilled Migration programme as I have a Degree in Graphic Design with 7 years experience and my profession is on the Skilled Occupation List. My main concern is that it's all a little uncertain if an agency will actually find me a job, depending if my skills match any employers on the database.

I just don't know what the best route to finding the right job is, afterall this is a big commitment and it would be ideal to find a resource for overseas candidates particularly in Design/Media. Seek.au has a good range of current vacancies in my industry but perhaps tailored for Aussies, and I take it not all employers will want to commit to the hassle of employing migrants.

I'm dying to start applying for jobs, get the ball rolling but right now it seems to be a members only club with an agency, pay the fee and get access to "thousands of jobs".

Also I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on the notice currently on IMMI stating that it's not accepting any new applications:

immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/

I really appreciate any advice and a nudge in the right direction would be great

Cheers

Oli

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi olipowell,

there are two things you have to consider:

1.) Getting a visa that allows you to work/live in Australia.
2.) Getting a job.