Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!

I'm new to this forum and hoping for the good advice of likeminded folk as although all my friends and family like to think they are immigration experts...they are not! :)

A bit of background on me, I am a UK resident and have been with my US partner for 4 years spending all our money visiting each other 4-5 times a year throughout.

We know we want to marry and here is where the questions start as I think I had been misinformed previously. Or original intention based on previous advice was to go down the K1 route and marry Stateside. This has gone down like a lead balloon with my family would would be unlikely to make the trip as where we will be living is far from what they see as a holiday destination. I have the bigger family/friends and would see this as a bit of a leaving event as I will be moving Stateside afterwards.

I then heard about a Marriage visitor visa which would enable us to marry in the Uk but I could of sworn I read that the US citizen had to be in the UK for so long prior to the marriage and also for the duration of giving notice at the registry office. So my question here is, has anyone done this and with my partner only having ten days annual leave...how have people managed this?

If we do this route over the K1 are there any pros and cons? I.e can I work sooner when I get to the US? Can I visit the UK easily to visit family say 1-2 times a year without restrictions? Does this process take much longer all in all vs the K1?

The only thing stopping us at the moment is money, I want to have enough to fund getting my stuff over, any time i'll be out of work and money for a deposit on a house. We don't want to struggle but aren't sure how much we really need to do this properly within the next 12-18 months.