Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all you have made your dream a realilty,

Can you help us achieve ours.

I am sure you have all seen these threads a hundred times, but if any one can help this would be very much appreciated.
My wife, son & i, are looking to move to Spain, to get away from the UK way of life (all work no play) etc.
Our son is 16 so no schools are required.
As you guys have already done this can you help.
We are looking to rent for a year but during this time will need to look for work.
I am learning spanish slowly, but my wife struggles, i am an accountant, are we better looking at the costa del sol, purely because of the " britishness & work opportunities or would we be better looking elsewhere.
We want to live as close to the beach as possible and do not want to be miles from anywhere. We will hopefully have approx 60,000 euros to live on until work can be found.

Thank you for your help & time

Steve & Family

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
I would suggest you come over and have an extended holiday before making a break from the UK. See what area suits you best, how you feel and how easy or not it is to get work. There are lots of brits going back to the UK because work is hard to come by. I finally got a job after three years and TBH, I work full time and earn less in a month than I did in a week in the UK. Not that I mind cos its a challenge and my money isnt pivotal to us staying here (my husband commutes to work in the UK). My point is that to earn anywhere near as much as you do in the UK you'll have to work all the hours god sends and more!!

Yes, its nicer here than the UK, but "the dream" isnt all its cracked up to be, the cost of living isnt much less than the UK, the rules and regulations arent much better and its a much harder way of life here!

But I dont want to put you off, cos it is lovely. So if you can afford it and dont burn your bridges, come over and try it!

Jo xxx