Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am a young professional (female, 25 years old) who will be moving to Madrid in midst September,
due to work.
Currently, I am looking for apartments or shared-flats, mostly on idealista.
Does anyone has any recommendations for me regarding affordable areas with good living quality? Would you prefer studios or shared flats?
I will be working in Ciudad Lineal but am very flexible due to home office regulations.
I would like to have some bars and restaurants but also some parks near.
Thanks, Lena

·
Registered
131 Posts
Try starting with a flat which is shared where they have all the utilities/internet already setup and you can simply move straight in and everything is in place.

Check out the filters on Idealista to refine the properties that are available that meet your criteria.

Go for somewhere central, with good transport links to where you work.

·
Registered
3,313 Posts
When you say "young professional" it automatically makes me think of high flying, high aspiring finance / legal / architect type. And that sometimes indicates social expectations. I know that this is a terrible case of prejudice and pigeon-holing, but it is something you need to be honest with yourself about.
If you want to live amidst potentially similar people (who will almost certainly be mainly white, middle class and university educated) you will need to be in one of the more exclusive areas. There are many, but anywhere in barrio Salamanca or around El Retiro park (if you are looking at the center) or Pozuelo de Alarcón (if you are looking at the commuter belt). You don't specify if you mean Madrid the city or Madrid the Community, but I assume you mean the city, or close to.
If, on the other hand you would be happy in a more working class area, you could look towards the south of Madrid where property is much cheaper.