Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, this is my first post.

I'm a Brazilian physicist living in Austria and Germany for over 10 years.
Next September, I will move to Marseille as a professor at the Aix-Marseille University.

I'm starting to look for a place to live there. I visited the city already a few times, and I start to get some idea about the place. Even though, I'm still a bit of lost on the best choices.

I found out a few threads on similar topics, but I would like to put the question again:
Could any of you give me some advice on where are the good spots to rent a flat there (arrondissements and nearby villes)?

I'm mainly looking for a calm, quite, and comfortable place. (Am I asking too much?)

Thanks a lot,

CB

·
Read Only
18,642 Posts
Hi everybody, this is my first post.

I'm a Brazilian physicist living in Austria and Germany for over 10 years.
Next September, I will move to Marseille as a professor at the Aix-Marseille University.

I'm starting to look for a place to live there. I visited the city already a few times, and I start to get some idea about the place. Even though, I'm still a bit of lost on the best choices.

I found out a few threads on similar topics, but I would like to put the question again:
Could any of you give me some advice on where are the good spots to rent a flat there (arrondissements and nearby villes)?

I'm mainly looking for a calm, quite, and comfortable place. (Am I asking too much?)

Thanks a lot,

CB
No, you're not asking too much but you need to spend some time in the area and visit the various towns and villages to get an idea.

Be aware that the coastal villages in particular, whilst beautiful and although pretty quiet for 9 months of the year, are extremely busy during the summer and, even if you are able to avoid the crowds, getting in and out by road can be a nightmare.