Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I appreciate this is such a broad question and asked a thousand times before, but would love to hear from anyone with experience of more than one location so they can offer comparisons.:rolleyes:

I have an interview in 2 weeks for a new job to live & work in Spain. Initially on my own, with the boss coming out to visit when she can, then, if it works out long term, sell up in the UK and move out for good. Buying with a view to doing a the property up, as I have some experience of doing this.

They have a number of places (list below) I can choose from but I have to select 1 of them at the interview. I have been to Spain & the Canaries many times but only as a tourist. I would welcome any comments. I will accept the job if offered so HAVE to make the decision.

Las Palmas (Gran Canaries):confused:
Alicante:confused:
Malaga:confused:

With a possibility of next year;
Barcelona:confused:
Madrid:confused:
Palma:confused:

·
Registered
2,456 Posts
My vote and I have never been there so have very little to base it on would be Las Palmas.But only if I could live out on the mountain somewhere, I have no idea what sort of commute that would make.

Depends are you a city person or suburbs or country?
If that makes sense.

·
Registered
19,381 Posts
If your work is going to leave you with enough free time to travel, I'd go to Madrid, Barcelona, or Alicante. That of course is presuming that you'd like to travel around and see different places in the country. There are loads of different destinations that you can reach easily from these three places. If you don't like cities you can live outside. Things get rural pretty quickly outside of the cities in Spain.