Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody have advice on where to go to find decent quality furniture? I'm new to Dubai and am shipping some things out with me but still need to buy sofas, chairs, tables etc. I'm looking for good quality and contemporary/modern styles. Not IKEA...

Thanks!

·
Registered
140 Posts
When there's a sale on, I find Home Centre to be pretty good. Homes R Us is also not bad. I bought my couch, dining table and chairs and a few other tidbits from both places and I'm happy with everything.

I bought a coffee table from IKEA when there was a sale.

PAN Emirates was recommended to me but I found them crazily expensive however when they had a sale on recently, they were remarkably affordable. Go figure!

You can find some cheaper quality stuff at LuLu as well.

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
Pan Emirates is pretty cheap. Cheap prices, cheap materials, cheap construction.

The 'palace' complexion is impressive from a certain perspective. :eek:

The range of furniture in Dubai isn't particularly great as it seems to be either the overpriced and expensive or cheap and basic (Ikea) with little in between. A lot of the furniture also isn't to western taste.

I like the American stores - Crate and Barrel at Mall of Emirates and Pottery Barn at Dubai Mall the best for they offer the best value for the quality you receive. They're still not cheap but the design and quality is something you could live with for years rather than disposing of them after a few years as is the case with Ikea or Home Centre. Crate and Barrel particularly has some very nice simple contemporary designs.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Pan Emirates is pretty cheap. Cheap prices, cheap materials, cheap construction.

The 'palace' complexion is impressive from a certain perspective. :eek: