Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there, I'm a newbie on this website, but I'm very happy to have found it :)

Currently I'm an american who has been living in Italy for almost 3 years and I'm thinking of relocating to France but before I relocate I was thinking of taking a french course for 6 or 8 weeks and start learning the language first then maybe in september 2010 maybe try and move to france. I will continue with a french course in italy also. Because I live in Italy, Ive been to Paris a few times and Nice once, but I really love Paris. But I was wondering are there any other cities that anyone would recommend to take a french course. Also I'm in my 30s and would like to find a french roommate for 2 months to help with learning my french so any suggestions and ideas are welcomed :D

·
Registered
11 Posts
I have lived in Lille, worked in Roubaix, weekended in Paris and so far, the best place I've ever lived in France is Lyon. I lived here for a year or so back in 99/00 and have lived here again for a year now (and will stay another two) and I freakin' LOVE it here. The city is full of art and culture. There are all kinds of universities here. The city is very "green" in that it has EXCELLENT mass transit (especially with the Velov's). There are organic farmer's markets as well as "bio" sections in most major stores. If I hadn't spent the past year or so dreaming and researching organic farming in the States (I even already bought property for my farm-to-be), I would campaign to spend the rest of my life right here in Lyon.

If you do decide to study here, hit me up and I'll do what I can to help you settle in. I'm bilingual in English/French and can help you with that, too, if you need.

Good Luck!!!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·