Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all!

I want to move to Spain for two reasons, one to learn Spanish and two to write a book. My plan is to move and join one of the Spanish language schools to improve my conversational Spanish and to rent an apartment in a town or city where there is an authentic flavour of Spanish life - so, not overwhelmingly expat life!

Being a poor impoverished writer I will have to watch my pennies!

Let me ask you all; where would you consider if you were me?

Scribbles

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
I think if I were you I'd have to ask myself what I mean by authentic Spain!! There are the old villages around still - the classic "picture book" type, but the young folk from those areas seem to want what other european youngsters have - the fast cars, good jobs, internet, fashionable houses, clothes, surroundings..... Not donkeys or wandering thru lemon groves. So it seems to me that these old villages are gradually dying or being taken up by either expats or tourists????. But to me real Spain now is European towns which, sadly are much like any other european town!!??

But you'll hopefully get some other answers lol

Jo xxxx

·
Registered
5,690 Posts
Ahhh ... the much asked question "where is real spain?" :D

Who knows! What is real Spain? Is it a small village where the villagers sit around the square talking about their day. Is it the busy City where people go about their day in the same frenzied rush that workers do in any other city in the world?

I dont think you will get a definitive answer :) Ex pats are part of Spanish life nowadays, whether they be French, Dutch, English or whatever. All I can say is avoid the big towns in the Costas such as Benidorm, Torrevieja etc etc. There are still Spanish towns to be found even in the Costa's.

If you are looking for total Spanish life with no expats then I guess head far inland, but I bet you still find some :)

·