Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my first post, and I really didn't find an appropritate place to post this (I am from US living in Rome, Italy, my case is unusual but it could happen anywhere I suppose..) so I decided to write here.
I have, on the record, been in a marriage to an English man since January 2000, which was registered in San Antonio, Texas USA, where I was a resident at that time. The marriage practically dissolved after less than a year, and I have not been in touch with my husband for over 12 years now. I have let the issue fall on the way side, however the time has arrived in which I'd better get the matter sorted once for all. I have no idea of whereabouts of my husband now, while there seem to be a possibility of having a divorce with a missing spouse, the Texas divorce law indicates I must be a current resident of Texas to file for it. So where I need to ask for a petition from Rome, Italy?? Is it at all possible to have the procedure done without physically travelling back to the US? Consulate was no help at all, does anyone have any advice? Thank you for any suggestion in advance...:confused2:

·
Registered
8 Posts
You have some complex situation there I have to say. To get the best possible answer I believe you need to talk to a lawyer. Try looking for free online or also paid online legal aid websites, where you can ask for help. You will have to wait for answer but you will get the professional one.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·