Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI

I'm hearing about VETASSESS over ACS so not sure when to select whom?

I have a BCom degree from Delhi University so someone tells me that I should get this qualification assessed from VETASSESS so will ACS not do it along with my other IT experience ?

·
Registered
211 Posts
HI

I'm hearing about VETASSESS over ACS so not sure when to select whom?

I have a BCom degree from Delhi University so someone tells me that I should get this qualification assessed from VETASSESS so will ACS not do it along with my other IT experience ?
Since you have have BCOM degree, there is a high possibility that ACS will deduct 4-6 years from your overall work experience. If you dont plan on claiming points for your work experience, then you should go for VETASSESS and get your educational qualification assessed.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Since you have have BCOM degree, there is a high possibility that ACS will deduct 4-6 years from your overall work experience. If you dont plan on claiming points for your work experience, then you should go for VETASSESS and get your educational qualification assessed.
Thanks Bob but I DO want to claim work experience points so my summary for points is:

Qualification: BCom
Experience 13 years in IT
IELTS score 7 in all

So reading the Skills assessment guide PDF on ACS site, I will loose 2 years towards suitability criteria leaving 11 years of relevant experience. Then if BCom is considered non ICT Bachelor not closely related to occupation then another 6 years deducted out of 11 so leaving 7 years of experience.

My question is if this will then entitle me to claim 10 points for work experience as I will fall in the less then 8 but more than 5 years experience category?

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·