Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Folks,

Good evening.

What is "esquema de contratación mixta". I am in a process of recruitment in an IT consulting firm. And they said it contratación mixta. Could you kindly help me understand what is it and pros n cons.

Thanks
Siva Kumar

·
Banned
1,411 Posts
I just googled it but I'll wait and let someone else answer....

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Because I have no personal knowledge of it an this website may be wrong, anyone can do a search.
This is the website I found. It seems legit enough.
Reclu IT

According to this website the down and dirty of the “esquema de contratación mixta” is that a company pays a portion of your wages as your official fixed salary, and the rest is a variable amount made up of other forms of payment, which may be bonuses, fees, etc. The amount of these additional wages may be linked to productivity and earnings of the company.

The advantages of this form of contract for the company is that they only have to declare the base fixed salary portion for payment of social security costs and payroll taxes. Apparently the declared amount will usually be quite minimal, just enough to meet the requirements of labour legislation in terms of minimum wage. So if you earn $10,000 per month, but only $1,000 is declared for social insurance purposes, that means all benefits such as mandatory sick leave, vacation, pension and possibly end of year bonus (el aguinaldo) will be based on the $1,000 declared monthly wage, not the $10,000 you are actually earning. This represents a significant cost savings for the company, but erodes the workers’ benefits and security.

Caveat: I am just translating and summarizing what is on the website, I do not have personal knowledge of this topic.

·
Banned
1,411 Posts