Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I have a Bachelors degree in Computer Science which I obtained in the US. I was thinking about moving to Australia and was looking at their skilled occupation list, but I am a little confused as to what they mean by a "Developer Programmer" I don't know if this is different in Australia but in the US we have Developers and then we have Programmers, so I was just wondering what is meant by "Developer Programmer" Do they mean both Developers and Programmers are eligible?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I looked on the New Zealand skills list and the Developer Programmer title apparently is the equivalent to the Computer Programmer title but I don't know if this would be the same in Australia.

·
Registered
3,427 Posts

Refer to the ANZSCO Descriptions document from ACS.

This contains example descriptions of ICT units and employment duties for each nominated occupation ANZSCO code.

I have observed that ACS is not concerned about you designation rather they are more focused on your R&R as per ANZSCO Descriptions document.

Refer to DIBP web-link of ANZSCO Codes and Occupations

Reactions: dcasarrubias

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Refer to the ANZSCO Descriptions document from ACS.

This contains example descriptions of ICT units and employment duties for each nominated occupation ANZSCO code.

I have observed that ACS is not concerned about you designation rather they are more focused on your R&R as per ANZSCO Descriptions document.

Refer to DIBP web-link of ANZSCO Codes and Occupations
Thanks for the informative response. I just had one more question if you don't mind. On the document you provided it stated that

"In order for a qualification or employment period to be deemed closely related;
 At least 65% of the ICT units in your qualification must be relevant to the nominated occupation