Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,everyone,i will be moving to cyprus this febuary with my family,and would really like to be working for myself as opposed to an employer.
I am a qualified mechanic over in the u.k but tend to stick to servicing,anybody no what the market is like and is their room for me,also any other ideas would be greatly appreciated,thanks lee

·
Registered
587 Posts
What part of the island are you moving to? There is no shortage of mechanics and service centres in Nicosia and Larnaca (the areas I'm most familiar with) and seem to recall seeing one-man mechanic car shops all over the island. Clearly you'd need to settle for a place with the biggest potential market. There certainly is no shortage of cars and fairly risky driving is ubiqitous so perhaps a repair shop rather than servicing would be a better idea! ;)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you

thanks for replying,we will be moving to the larnaca area,i read that their was a shortage for mechanics(1 post only so just thought i would look into it)is their anything in your oppinion that the island as a market for,maybe importing or somthing,any suggestions or services that are hard to come by,thank again lee

·
Super Moderator
12,544 Posts
thanks for replying,we will be moving to the larnaca area,i read that their was a shortage for mechanics(1 post only so just thought i would look into it)is their anything in your oppinion that the island as a market for,maybe importing or somthing,any suggestions or services that are hard to come by,thank again lee
Importing british goods is already being done by several people so I would not go down that road. There are plenty of mechanics in the Paphos area as well.