Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi my name is sara,
i was thinkin if anyone can help me find a way to live in UK with my bf. we plan to get marry...in god's willin... iam an american citizen. im also a full time student about to be done within the year to come..in god's willin... i have tried many sites and every site i saw has givin me different options which can get very confusin...
i hope this site can help me find a way to fix this problem...
any adivce..or anything....
where i go..where i start from...
thank u..

·
Administrator
50,376 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

As you saw in the other thread, your options are kind of limited. Either you get go for a fiancé visa (in which case you need to get married within 6 months of your arrival in the UK) or you find a job in the UK - which at the moment is a rather daunting prospect, with high unemployment, especially among those who are newly graduated from school.

Changing visa status after your arrival (i.e. from a work-related visa to a spousal visa) is also not a trivial matter.

If you're not ready to get married yet, you may have to content yourself with frequent short visits until you're better prepared to make that leap.
Cheers,
Bev

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi and welcome to the forum.

As you saw in the other thread, your options are kind of limited. Either you get go for a fiancé visa (in which case you need to get married within 6 months of your arrival in the UK) or you find a job in the UK - which at the moment is a rather daunting prospect, with high unemployment, especially among those who are newly graduated from school.

Changing visa status after your arrival (i.e. from a work-related visa to a spousal visa) is also not a trivial matter.