Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was born in Canada. My family moved to the US when I was ten. I grew up in the US, but am still a Canadian citizen (actually, I am a dual citizen). I have a Canadian birth certificate, Passport and SIN card.

I would like to return, but I'm a bit clueless as to how.

I've lost my SIN card and don't remember the number. I've downloaded the form to apply for a replacement, but the service Canada site says if you don't know your number to refer to your income tax return. I have never filed taxes in Canada. Would they be able to look it up? Would it be better to mail the form (I'm nervous about sending my birth certificate through the mail) or got in person?

How hard is it to get a job if you don't speak French? All my schooling from grade 6 on is in the US. I'm a college student now, but I know employers prefer Canadian education. What's the situation like? Which jobs or skills are in the most demand?

I want to live in Winnipeg, by the way. I am 24 and looking for anything. Sorry if these are really basic questions, but if someone can point me in the right direction, I would really appreciate it! :)

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
I was born in Canada. My family moved to the US when I was ten. I grew up in the US, but am still a Canadian citizen (actually, I am a dual citizen). I have a Canadian birth certificate, Passport and SIN card.
If you have a current passport you may enter Canada at any time.

I would like to return, but I'm a bit clueless as to how.