Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,

Newbie here, both to the forum and to the region. Just relocated from London to AD, initially for 6 months, but we'll see how it goes. :)

So, on to my question, which I'm sure has been covered elsewhere, but I couldn't see a recent/decent thread on it (sorry if I'm mistaken!).

The situation: me and my partner got in on a 30 day visit visa a couple of weeks back. For the time being we aim to renew for another 30 days, pending our employers back in the UK sorting out a more permanent solution.

My understanding is that , in lieu of a residence permit/visa, after 60 days we'll have to leave the country. But for the life of me I can't work out how long we need to leave for before we can come back. Can anyone shed any light on this?

For the record I'm a Norwegian national and the OH is Irish.

Cheers,
Solberg

·
Registered
8,891 Posts
With the uk passport, can do visa runs. Not sure on Norwegian passport but would think so. Did you get a visa on arrival? If you did, then you are part of the group that can get a 'visa on arrival'. Then you can enter and leave every 30 days either flying out or doing visa runs at the Oman border. There is a grey are of a ten day grace period so some people go every 40 days. the one time I left at 32 days over, I had to pay. This has been discussed a lot so a search will turn up a lot of info.

Side note. Is illegal to work in the uae without a work visa. You have no rights and besides many other issues that can arrise, if they choose not to pay you, you can not say one word, as you are on the wrong side of the law and the police will throw you in jail for working illegally.... Have a friend who did independent installations of a sort, and got hosed for a months worth of work and 25,000dirhams. Can't say a thing.

Reactions: Solberg

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·