Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All :)

I've been speaking with a company in the UK is interested in having me work for them, remote in the States is ok, but relocating to the UK is ideal for them. I've been researching visas for awhile since I was planning on moving after graduation, but I still can't find a clear answer to these questions:

If I am a freelance (contract) artist, do I need any visa to work in UK? Can I go without, even if it's for a brief period?

Also, if I do not have a bachelor's degree, but am a current student (wether or not I continue depends on work, in my field a diploma doesn't mean much) can I still get a tier 2 visa? If so, when using the calculator under 'qualifications' would I classify myself as being a 'member' of my school?

Can I get a student visa if I am studying in the US but want to work in a related field to my course of study in the uk? (I think student visas allow for 20 hours of work a week)

How is a work permit different from a visa and is it any easier for an employer to obtain?

I had mentioned to them I would do some independent research on my own, I don't think they do alot of hiring outside of the EU.

Thanks! :)

·
Registered
39,105 Posts
Hey All :)

I've been speaking with a company in the UK is interested in having me work for them, remote in the States is ok, but relocating to the UK is ideal for them. I've been researching visas for awhile since I was planning on moving after graduation, but I still can't find a clear answer to these questions:

If I am a freelance (contract) artist, do I need any visa to work in UK? Can I go without, even if it's for a brief period?

Yes, you need a visa. No, you cannot, unless it can be construed as a business trip.