Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I am just wondering if anybody can offer advice on timescales of the emigration process for Permanent Residency? I am an IT Manager and have applied under the Skilled Worker Visa. My wife and I sent our application on the 18th November 2009 to Sydney, Nova Scotia. We have been told that it normally takes 2 -3 months to receive an initial reply from CIC. We have received no word yet, but our application fee of $2500 was taken from our bank on the 30th January 2010.

Does anyone know if this is an indication that our application has a chance of being successful? We assume that the payment would not be taken if our initial application is too weak to proceed any further.

Also, are there any UK teachers who have successfully secured employment in Canada recently? It appears that you need a social security number and a Canadian address to be considered for employment by most Provincial School boards. Would my wife need to be a landed Permanent Resident to register with school boards and start applying for jobs? She has ten years teaching experience and currently works in Special Needs.

Many thanks for your help.

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
Hello All,

I am just wondering if anybody can offer advice on timescales of the emigration process for Permanent Residency? I am an IT Manager and have applied under the Skilled Worker Visa. My wife and I sent our application on the 18th November 2009 to Sydney, Nova Scotia. We have been told that it normally takes 2 -3 months to receive an initial reply from CIC. We have received no word yet, but our application fee of $2500 was taken from our bank on the 30th January 2010.

Does anyone know if this is an indication that our application has a chance of being successful? We assume that the payment would not be taken if our initial application is too weak to proceed any further.