Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bula,

Firstly sorry for the double posts.

I am a Civil Engineering Technician/Draughtsman and Project Manager for about 7.5 years now working in a Australian based engineering consulting firm in Fiji and I am planning to migrate to Australia. I have already successfully completed my skill assessment with the Engineers Australia and IELTS test and I am now trying to apply to Victoria State Sponsorship for the additional 5 points as my overall points score is currently sitting at 60 only. (IELTS results were overall 8 however my writing was 7.5 so I didn’t make the cut).

I understand as per the Occupational Listing on their website that my particular field of expertise is highly wanted in the state of Victoria and hence my chances are really high.

I had a few questions and I would very much appreciate it if any of you Snr. Experts could share some advice.

1. If I apply to Vic. State Sponsorship by the end of this week (24th of Feb, 2012 – which also happens to be by b-day) what will be the worse date to get back the approved (successful hopefully) results?

2. In the application form. There is a part whereby you have to declare the amount of money you need to bring to Australia. I understand as per guideline tables it requires individuals to bring around Australian $30,000. I personally think this is too much and I will not need this much to survive in Australia as I have my sister/friends/cousins etc who will support me. Now my question is will they reject your application if I was to say indicate less than this amount - do they ever ask you to indicate/verify your claimed amount? Would it be a good idea to say indicate a lesser amount and then say that I have relatives that will take care of me?