Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well me and my wife are going through a dilema
I am British my wife is American
We live in the U.S in Utah and took me a year to get my fiancee visa and were apart the whole time i moved the the States and got my 2 year greencard (been here 17 months now) and got a job doing customer service for $9 a hr NO benifits or any extras ( i am a carpet installer but is not a required trade here )
my wife is pregnant and just got laid of from her part time job as a Para Educater which puts our income at $1300 a month after taxes and before rent etc. We barely get by and live in a not so good area. Niether of us has any friends and just seem to stay in and not do much. I keep trying to get better jobs but as soon as they hear my accent they are like we will let you know and i never hear back and am begining to feel we are flogging a dead horse and with the economy here going down hill quickly i fear of losing my job more and more
we are trying to decide whether to move back to the UK (Scotland to be exact ) my parents have a small 30 acre farm there and have told us we are welcome to move back and live rent free till we get on our feet and told us we are welcome to a acre of the land to build a house on if we wanted there isnt many job prospects up in that area though but i have alot of contacts and my family said they will help us find work.

Would the life style be worth coming home and better for my family?

i am just wondering what your choice would be and what you suggest doing we know we need to decide soon so any and all advise is welcome

Many Thanks
wilky

***i moved here to the US for my wife because she didnt want to leave her family, but we were soon cut off from them when they found out i wasnt American and had no intention of giving up my British citizenship

·
Registered
89 Posts
Well that last bit certainly is weird. But to the rest, I can relate.