Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
519 Posts
The VA in the Philippines only provides service connected veterans with care. So unless you are in that category you do not get seen. The VA Manila is actually here to service Filipino WWII vets and will probably be gone in a few years. It also is the only VA facility outside the US or its Territories.

Chuck

·
Registered
631 Posts
As a disabled vet I do not see a problem with this. People saying things like “This in and of itself is a travesty and a slap in the face". Why?

I do not use the Manila VA, because for my disability they have nothing really to offer, and I do not live near Manila. It was still my decision to retire here. I am not registered with the VA here, I get nothing from them, and do not see it as a 'slap in the face'. This is the only VA outside of the US. What do people expect?

We can get the vaccine the same way as an other expat (however that happens to work out). I honestly do not understand what the problem is supposed to be. I did my research before moving over here and knew what the score was.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
It always amuses me that Americans, who in general hate paying taxes, distrust their own government and hate that someone else might be getting a benefit from the government that they are not, are generally the first to raise a hue and cry about the need for their government to step in and help them when they have an issue in a foreign land.

We see it in VA benefits, consular intervention if charged with a crime, getting embassy and consular services outside of Manila etc.

No Europeans, Canadians, Brits, Kiwis and Aussies are complaining that their government is not sending ships to vaccinate them. We realize that we have voluntary chosen to live in a foreign land and that one of the consequences of that decision is that we are no longer eligible to some of the benefits that our countrymen at home are getting.,

·