Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new here, and just getting my feet wet.

I'm a US citizen & resident. I hold dual citizenship in the EU.

I'm exploring a relocation to the EU, but not to the country I hold dual-citizenship in. It will be a personal, not a business, expat/relo.

I'm just getting started with understanding the rights etc. that a EU Citizen holds across the EU countries.

My first question is pretty basic -- I'd appreciate any knowledgeable answer, or pointer to any relevant documentation & reading materials.

I understand that as a EU citizen I have a right of free movement -- to live & work -- across the EU, and to participate in the healthcare system of the EU.

My question is:

If I were to relocate from the US to any EU country other than that which I hold dual-citizenship in, do I immediately have access to the healthcare system in my new country of residence, as an EU citizen?

Or is there some time that needs to pass, or tax/payment requirement, before I have that access?

As I said, I'm just starting to wrap my head around this, and trying to get a sense of the magnitude of the change.

Thanks for any help!

Richard

·
Administrator
49,467 Posts
OK, as an EU citizen (hope that's not the UK, cause if it is, all bets are off as things unwind for this Brexit stuff), you have the right to live and work in any other EU country. How you get into the national health care system is a separate question, as there is no "EU wide" healthcare system, only the national systems.