Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there,

This is my first time on this forum, in fact just signed up a few minutes ago, so hopefully I'm not breaking any of the community rules with this post. My apologies in advance if it does.

My husband and I are looking to move to the UK and we are wondering what income loss we should expect from the double taxation system that US expatriates are exposed to. Any advice / help is highly appreciated. A little bit about us:

- We currently live in the state of Pennsylvania, USA and each of us is currently earning 120,000 - both in US dollar.
- My expected salary would roughly be 100,000 (am currently in salary negotiation mode) and his would be 82,000 - both in British pound.
- We are looking to rent in London or its immediate suburb, roughly for 500/month - in British pound.

Using a UK income tax rate of 40%, US expatriate tax rate of 25% on amount greater than $95100, and US (only) income tax rate of 28% that we have now, I've came up with a total income loss of $8712 per year (calculations attached). I would appreciate any help confirming / negating this calculation. Feel free to point out if I missed anything or any incorrect calculations - they would be highly appreciated.

We are pretty excited about this moving opportunity, but want to go into it with eyes wide open on the net take-home earnings that we would have. Obviously, at some point, we will need a tax expert to help us file our tax. Thank you in advance again for any help you can render.

Very gratefully yours,
fway

Attachments

·
Registered
2,904 Posts
- We are looking to rent in London or its immediate suburb, roughly for 500/month - in British pound.
That's perhaps a little, um, optimistic for London - or anywhere. Unless you're planning to live in a closet.

You could probably afford better on those salaries.

·
Banned
6,189 Posts