Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I have been living in Paris for over three months now having moved here to live with my girlfriend and her parents in their home. The move is permanent.

I am a self-employed FOREX (foreign exchange) trader. The money I recieve from trading the Forex is transferred from a US based broker into a UK based account.

My questions are:

Do I have to pay tax on my Forex earnings in France or the UK? If so, how and where do I register?
How and where do I become registered for help with health insurance?

Please can someone advise as I am new to all of this!

·
Administrator
49,871 Posts
There isn't really a category in France for being "self-employed" as such. You need to set up some form of business entity - the very simplest is this new "auto-entrepreneur" statute, though it is limited to businesses with a certain level of turnover. If your gross revenue is more than the limit, then you need to set up some form of business, usually an EURL or some other "one-person" type of business entity.

You should probably check with the local Chambre de Commerce, where there is usually some sort of assistance available for entrepreneurs in setting up their businesses. Once you have your business registered (and depending on how that business is categorized) you then are registered with the various "caisses" for health insurance, retirement, etc. They will contact you about paying your cotisations (usually quarterly).

And as long as you are considered "resident" in France, you will be taxed in France. It depends a bit on what business form you decide on, but for 2009, you just file a tax declaration for the year from the date you moved here. (Tax declarations are usually due in May for the prior calendar year, so you have a bit of time.)
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·