Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

From reading through the forum posts, there seems to be a lot of confusion regarding where and how to declare UK rental income. You all seem to be very well versed in French/UK tax affairs so hoping you can set some things straight for me.

I currently work in France so I’m a tax resident but have a furnished UK property that is rented out. I have already declared my income to HMRC. After expenses, I don’t pay any tax in the UK due to my personal allowance. My gross rental income per year is approx £11,000.

I’ve declared my French income on form 2042 but do I also have to declare my rental income in the same form? I'm aware of form 2047 that allows me to declare my UK rental income but I’m confused whether or not I need to enter the gross amount or the net amount post expenses and in what boxes - oh so many boxes!

What effect does this have on my tax liability in France? Do I need to mention the double-taxation treaty somewhere?

Thanks a lot for your help – I need to get this sent off before midnight! :-(

·
Administrator
51,357 Posts
Any foreign source income you disclose on a 2047 is declared both on the 2047 form AND on the 2042 (or one of the annexes to the 2042 form). That's one of the first tricky things to get used to with French taxes - there are several items you wind up having to declare in a couple different places.

Rents are "revenus fonciers" and so belong in section 4 of the 2047 form. The instructions then say that you should report these revenues on form 2044 just like they were French rentals, including the address of the property.