Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new in town and finally got all my unpacking done.
Looking forward to a new life here in Cairo

Lynda xx

·
Registered
70 Posts
Congratulations, you must be travelling sensibly and light.

I'm new to cairo also and have just spent all day trying to sort out visas and paperwork so that customs can release our belongings shipped into Alexandria from Shanghai.

What a nightmare the visa office is!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hiya,

Thanks for the welcome, where does everyone live? I'm in Zamelek, really good place everything within walking distance.
Not sure if I need any help with things, got myself a lovely big flat, great view of the Nile and isn't it great the shop near by delivers!!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
GW, yep I came light, just gonna buy what I need here.
I don't know the visa office and I don't envy you

LJxx

·
Registered
607 Posts
Sounds like you are settling in nicely LyndaJane. You will find that most things can be delivered in Cairo! What sort of things do you like to eat, do etc? Do you want to take a language course or find private tuition?

·
Banned
20 Posts
Where are the best places to hang out? eat, learn arabic etc etc
hang out : theres more then place and i think its up to you what kind of places you wanna go ?!?

Local Cafes , Large Cafes , Discos , Nights Clubs ?
tell me to help you

learn arabic : i'm not advice you to take Course in arabic cause its Hard Language and you gonna lose alots of money and time too learn arabic from your friends better

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I like all types of food, and I think I am just going to buy a phrase book and a few c.ds and learn on the run.
Just had all my shopping delivered and it's great
Do I have to tip for everything??? The hands are outstretched wherever I go

·
Registered
607 Posts