Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am a British citizen, my boyfriend is Egyptian, we have been together for 5 years in a long distance relationship, we are planning on applying for the non-married partner visa and would appreciate some advice. First of all, due to the fact that I have been studying here at university for almost 5 years and the fact that he has work in Egypt we haven’t been living together for 2 years. However, during a gap year that I took to Egypt we lived together for a year at his parent’s house, I am unsure to how we could prove this.. In addition we visit each other in both England and Egypt at least 4 times a year, We also have a lot of pictures, messages, emails and chat logs that go back the 5 years we have been together. Would this be enough to prove that this is a genuine relationship or is it essential to prove that we have lived together? Furthermore, I am not working at the moment as I am in full time study which is demanding and therefore do not have a work based salary, however I do receive money from both parents on a weekly basis which is equivalent to around 8,000 sterling a year. Does this count towards the money requirement.

In addition, my boyfriend has around 50,000 sterling in investment fund and takes interest on it. The investment fund is an offshore account, which is registered with the New Zealand government; the company has a registration number for this. Would a letter from this financial institution or an account statement be accepted or would the capital have to be liquidated and transferred to a savings account knowing that this would be very hard.