Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in the UK and applied for a university lecturing job in SA and have been short-listed for an interview. The thing is the university didn't state the expected wages in the job ad. It only states that remuneration is generous. Any one has any ideas how much I should expect per month/annum. I hold a PhD in the humanities and would be teaching humanities undergraduates and postgraduates. If I get it, it's going to be my first lecturing job post-PhD (although I taught undergraduate courses over the 4 years that I was pursuing my PhD). I am hoping the issue of wages would come up at the interview when I may be asked how much I'm willing to accept. I clearly do not want to undersell or oversell myself. So, how much should a PhD holder appointed to the post of university lectureship expect to earn in SA? Thanks. Brit.

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
Salaries are usually personal issues.
Congratulations on obtaining a position.
What is your field of expertise in the humanities?

Is the post for a junior lecturer, lecturer or senior lecturer?

Professionally qualified people are paid more than others, so it depends on what your speciality is, etc.

Good luck!

·
Registered
2 Posts