Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been searching the forum and can see my options are very limited to non existant, with the economy like it is, a sponsor is not going to happen, or very unlikely, but i'm looking at doing it in stages to help me move in time, first off, visit on a 90 day visa, and while in America get a driver licence, and maybe a cdl, paid for by myself, or option 2, get some work on a harvest crew if i'm luck that will get me experience as well as a cdl, and a tempory work visa and see how it goes, maybe do a couple of seasons or so, coming back to the UK between seasons, option 3 would mean getting a cdl some how, must be some options out there, and buy a semi truck and become an O/O, would becoming an O/O entitle me to an investor type of visa as i would have started my own business.

would i be able to get a cdl as a non resident, i have 20 years truck driving experience in the UK so the test shouldn't be a problem if the American system lets me.

i have access to an address in illinois where i have previously had a conversion van regestered and insured by me

if all else fails, find a bride and marry, but would like to do it myself, as being an over the road trucker is not good for marrages.

any other options advice would be good, because one way or another i am coming to america!!!!!

·
Registered
3,212 Posts