Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

Newbie to the forum, though I've definitely been reading a good number of threads for a while now. A good number of my questions have been answered in part elsewhere, I'm simply looking for more clear-cut answers for my whole situation for them, and I have some business-related questions that I can't seem to find much information on. I've bolded my questions, if you'd rather jump to those.

My scenario in bullet-point form:

• I am a UK citizen. I am a professional software engineer (with a Master's degree, if it matters).
  • I have a fiancée who is a US citizen (Florida resident). She is a student, likely graduating in ~2 years.
  • We are looking to live in the USA permanently.
  • Not fussy about marriage ceremony (i.e. we have accepted that it's going to be just us and required officials, though how happy the families are is another thing entirely ;) ).
  • Current plan is the K-1 visa (apply, get approved, move to US, get married, change status, live happily ever after).
  • I am currently unemployed (recently made redundant).
  • Given the fact that I'm looking to move to the US relatively soon, I'm looking in to short-term employment options in the UK, including contracting.

In terms of our relationship, we have visited each other more than enough for me to have no worries about any doubts about the legitimacy of our relationship from a visa perspective.

One of my concerns is the financial side of things. My fiancée does not have savings of note, nor an income of note (part-time cashier during her studies). I have reasonable savings (I could live for verging on a year in my present situation without any significant issues), but currently no job.