Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, new here. After years of trying to convince my wife about emigrating she has now decided to consider a new life in NZ. I am currently a firefighter in the UK but I am a time served electrician with over 14 years experience, I would be returning to my trade to apply for a skilled migrant visa. I know I would have to gain my licence etc, what's the demand like for electricians? My wife is a secondary school teacher.
A bit about us, we are early 30's with a 3 year old and looking to make a move and make the most from an outdoor lifestyle and the differing cultures and way of life. I've been doing a bit of research and looking at potential places to make the move to, New Plymouth (vacinity) or Christchurch (vacinity). What are people's thoughts on these areas and also any other areas that people may feel is worth a look.
I don't wear rose tinted glasses and know that we wouldn't be doubling our wage and buying a 6 bedroom beach house with a pool for a couple of hundred grand. I've looked into wages as a spark and there seems to be a better wage than in the UK, around £10-15k p.a, having said that how does cost of living compare? I've done a few calcs and it seems things such as a weekly shop is roughly the same, maybe £20 more in NZ. What are people's thoughts on this and how does the general everyday cost compare?
I'm just after any help or advice as its a huge decision and want to make sure that we are well informed and make the right choice for us. Sorry if others have posted similar, just want opinions.

Thanks
Jamie

·
Registered
386 Posts
If it was me, I would consider Tauranga over New Plymouth.