Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

I realise similar posts come up as I have been reading them. From what I have read can someone please confirm if I have this right.

I am a UK resident that was fortunate to spend last summer in Northern California and met a guy while I was there. I am now back in UK and wish to return to be with him.

I have no degree or anything special but am a registered childminder herein UK which I believe would only be of use to me if I were to get a visa to be a nanny/au pair and I realise these are not immigrant visas so out the question. I do have a UK passport, but was born in Canada and have a Canadian birth certificate (any use to get Canadian passport again?)

Simplest way appears to be the K1, spouse visa, he petitions there, I supply paperwork and have a medical here, he proves until I find work I won't be a drain on the economy and can support me, marriage has to take place within 90 days of arrival and the I get a slip saying entitled to work? It's kind of here I get a little confused.

I also realise that no visa is a quick and simple process. I am under no misconceptions on this. Just need to. O if am proceeding in the right way and some advice as I go along.

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks two step

. No children involved. But when I do have them I would like to have the option for them when they become of age. My mother tried to destroy it all for me when I was a child but my father stopped her.

From what I have gathered going in on a Canadian passport is just as much work? I no I want both as I have the dual nationality.