Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I better tell you a little about myself:

I live in the UK and I am a first year student at Bristol University. I had 2 gap years where I spent a lot of my time building, promoting and selling Websites (self-employed). I also started my own Internet Company, which failed to get anywhere. I then got a highly paid job in London (25k pro rata) for a few months before going to University. The job used my specialized Website skills, most importantly SEO (search engine optimization), which isn't taught in schools and is in high demand.

I want to go to America for the summer for 2-3 months and work in LA. Then possibly travel down through Mexico afterwards if I have time.

I know there is a big demand for my skills in America. The LA craigslist is littered with ads for people with SEO skills. When I applied for the job in London I got the first job I applied for and there are at least 10 suitable ones I can apply for in LA alone, so I am fairly confident I would be able to secure a job offer.

However, in terms of immigration/work permits/visas I don't have many formal qualifications. I don't have a degree yet, but I do have have 3-4 years experience in SEO. I will be 21 in the summer. Also I should probably mention I have £3000 saved up so I wont be needing any kind state support.

Does anyone know if what I plan to do is possible? If so do I need a work permit or visa or is there some kind of student work and travel option?

Thank you for reading,

Matt

·
Banned
934 Posts
Australia has an agreement where students can work in America in a once in a lifetime Visa.

Check to see if the UK has something similar.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
3,212 Posts
Bunac

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
You answered your own question - lack of formal qualifications for visa purposes.