Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I will be leaving from the UK to Philippines in 3 weeks.

I will be going with my wife.

I am a consultant, and my company will be sorting out my Visa and Flights etc.
But they can not sort out my wifes......i know...i know.

Does anyone know if i can get a long term tourist visa for the Mrs, 6 or 12 months. Initially, from the start. Pick it up in the UK?

(We are married, under 30, both british and have new 10 yr passports)

I dont want to be buying fake plane tickets and leaving the country etc etc, or keep going back to the office in Manila and extending her Visa.

Thanks a lot,
G

·
Registered
286 Posts
I don't really know the answer. But what I would do is apply for your wife's visa for the same duration as yours (you might need to show your passport and visa). It is easier to deal with this matter before coming over.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The website is no good.

It just talks about a Visa on arrival, 59 Day Single entry and 6/12 month multi entry (But with the multi entry, you have to leave and return every 59 days)

I just want a flat, hassle free 6 or 12 month solid visa

·
Super Moderator
3,603 Posts
Have you contacted your local Philippine Consulate in Paris or the UK? I feel that would be easier and even a plus if you live near the consulate. if not there will be a phone number you can call or email, I never had any issue's with the Philippine Consulate in the states and I'm from ND but performed all my Visa applications through the mail in Chicago, I did call several times to clarify issue's and also used the email system it worked well.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I'm under the impression the only way is to get a visa on arrival and extend it once you are here. For working visas the company sort it out. I did a lot of research before the move and that's all i could find. Could be wrong though.