Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'd be really grateful if anyone can help me with a couple of questions I have about returning home with my hubby.

I am a UK citizen currently living in Los Angeles with my US citizen husband. We have been together for 6 years, married for 2 1/2. We have gone through the US immigration process (I am a permanent resident) and our plan is to move to the UK together next year, after I gain my US citizenship. He is self-employed and I have been employed at the same company for the last 4 years. We will want to move to the UK together, which means that his marriage visa application will have to be approved before we leave.

I have two questions:

1. Will the fact that we have lived together (and can prove it) for more than 4 years mean that we can jump straight to ILR, or is that only if we had been married for more than 4 years?

2. How will we prove an ability to support ourselves for 27 months if we can't rely on our current sources of income (as I'll have to find a new job out there, and he'll have to build up new clientele)? Will it all have to come down to what we have saved up (i.e. not much at this point)?

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to hearing your advice.

·
Registered
39,161 Posts
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'd be really grateful if anyone can help me with a couple of questions I have about returning home with my hubby.